Spherical Cow endorses Barack Obama for next POTUS

(P.P.S. (Pre Pre Script) Obviously I’m far from a major news outlet. Irony.)
(P.S. I really, really don’t like the term “POTUS.”)

But I do want to share my reasons for supporting (and casting my vote for) Barack Obama on Tuesday, 4 Nov. I am a big believer in checks and balances in government. I believe that our current executive administration has far exceeded its bounds (Abu Graib and domestic wire tapping, for instance). I believe that perhaps the primary role of the president should be as the ultimate ambassador of our country. Of course this is among many other functions of the executive, but no one person can do this alone. I believe Obama will be a great president because of the following 3 reasons:

1. His serious, thoughtful nature will help him serve as an excellent ambassador of the United States. Our allies and enemies will take him seriously, and he can help restore our image to the rest of the world. Yes, this is important. (Link added 2008-11-03)

2. He will surround himself with intelligent (and hopefully bipartisan) advisers.

3. He has demonstrated on several issues his willingness to listen to and understand intelligent discourse on a variety of subjects. He should not be an expert on everything but defer to experts when appropriate. I think he’ll take point 2 and listen to them.

With respect to John McCain, I believe that he could be a good ambassador of the United States. However, among many other reasons why I prefer Obama to McCain, it is abundantly clear that McCain has made missteps in surrounding himself with people who are good leaders of our country. His vice presidential choice in Sarah Palin is embarrassing for capable, intelligent American women and represents a bigger conservative blunder than the Harriet Miers choice for Supreme Court.

Of course, issues are important, too, but it is often difficult to know how any candidate’s policies translate into laws and decisions. Too many things change. It turns out that, on several issues, I find myself more closely aligned with Obama, but I’ll write about my concerns in another post.

2 thoughts on “Spherical Cow endorses Barack Obama for next POTUS

  1. sfokc6125

    Hi Mr. M,

    I suspect that it would be hard for them to get the courts to allow it’s release. But that is certainly an interesting perspective. I just hope we don’t wake up on Wednesday with him being the President-elect.

    Jason

    On Fri, Oct 31, 2008 at 11:49 AM, wrote:
    Has anyone looked into the LA tape as a matter for Homeland Security ? Seeing Obama is running for the top of the chain of command it only reasons that you look into any associations with known terrorists. Under the Patriot Act they don’t have to give it to GOP but they do have to turn it in to Homeland Security .

    – State Representative Jason W. Murphey Vice-Chairman Homeland Security Committee State Capitol Building Room #400B 2300 North Lincoln Blvd Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105 1(405) 557-7350 (Office) 1(405) 315-5064 (Cell) 1(405) 962-7660 (Fax) http://www.HouseDistrict31.com

Leave a Reply

