More than symbolic

On my way in this morning, my random playlist generator started playing the Blind Boys of Alabama’s “Free At Last,” from Down in New Orleans (an excellent album). It seemed an eerily fitting tribute, as my iPod has been known to do (sign one for machine takeover).

It occurs to me this morning, though, that perhaps something about the fundamental relationship between Blacks and non-Blacks has changed, instantly, after African American Barack Obama was successfully elected to the presidency.
I don’t really know how to characterize it, yet, but it’s just something that’s on my mind this morning. Good morning.

Leave a Reply

