Project Euler

Project Euler is a small database of computational/mathematical problems that one can solve using any method he/she knows. I think it’s going to be a fascinating way to learn different numerical programming techniques.

I only solved the first few problems* so far, and while I think in MATLAB/GNU Octave for the time being, I am certain I can learn enough Perl or C to do (at least some of) these problems as well.

*I am sure someone’s pointed this out in the 8 years since its introduction, but I might as well mention it here. The original problem 1 statement reads:

“If we list all the natural numbers below 10 that are multiples of 3 or 5, we get 3, 5, 6 and 9. The sum of these multiples is 23.

Find the sum of all the multiples of 3 or 5 below 1000.”

If we expand the boundary from 10 to 20, we see that the numbers divisible by 3 include 3, 6, 9, 12, 15, and 18. The numbers in the set divisible by 5 include 5, 10, and 15.

We are told to look for the sum of all the multiples of 3 OR 5 below 1000. In this toy example, I do not think the solution should include 15, which is divisible by 3 AND 5. In any case, they meant and/or (and go so far to say so in their PDF solution), so my qnd solution was correct. Feel free to contact me for at least one MATLAB solution to this problem.

Leave a Reply

