Faces

Just wanted to share this Kahlil Gibran poem. There’s a memorial outside of the Boston Public Library for Gibran, a beloved writer and one of my favorites. I don’t always understand his writing, but his poem “Faces” resonates with me.

I have seen a face with a thousand countenances, and a face that was but a single countenance as if it held in a mould.

I have seen a face whose sheen I could look through to the ugliness beneath, and a face whose sheen I had to lift to see how beautiful it was.

I have seen an old face much lined with nothing, and a smooth face in which all things were given.

I know faces, because I look through the fabric my own eye weaves, and behold the reality beneath.

Leave a Reply

