Forcing line breaks in LaTeX titles using maketitle

I had occasion while using the typesetting program LaTeX to force specific line breaks in my very long title. In order to do this, you must protect the line break command. I am not sure what this means or why, but it works with no apparent ill effects for me:

\title{Insert very long and informative title \protect\\ in this space with considerations of \protect\\ strange automatic line breaks}

If your title used to read:

INSERT VERY LONG AND INFORMATIVE TITLE IN THIS
SPACE WITH CONSIDERATIONS OF STRANGE AUTOMATIC
LINE BREAKS

it will now read:

INSERT VERY LONG AND INFORMATIVE TITLE
IN THIS SPACE WITH CONSIDERATIONS OF
STRANGE AUTOMATIC LINE BREAKS

4 thoughts on “Forcing line breaks in LaTeX titles using maketitle

  1. dclemenson

    This works fine for the title itself, but my experience with this was that on odd-numbered pages the header displays the break(s), so that there’s unwanted white space in the header of every odd-numbered page.

  2. Danilo Freire

    This works fine for me, too. I’m using the classicthesis theme and wanted to break a line in the \part{}. Thanks!

  3. Eduardo

    That is great! Just needed that, I am using classicthesis latest version and, on the configuration.tex, my command looks like: \newcommand{\myTitle}{My very long title here \protect\\that continues on the next line, cool!\xspace}

Leave a Reply

